Events

The Ilsington Local History group meets regularly throughout the autumn and winter months, initially on alternate Monday afternoons in Ilsington Village Hall Meeting Room. During the Summer months we hold occasional field visits – the image above was taken during a recent visit to Westabrook Farm, an ancient Devon longhouse, formerly part of Bagtor Manor.

Spring 2019

Monday 25th February 2.30 pm Ilsington Village Hall
Curious Stones in the Parish
We invite you to submit information (ie. photos, grid reference, brief description) to share on this topic, which we hope will include unusual way markers, gravestones, engraved stones and stone objects from around the Parish.  To ensure that your treasured curiosities are included  in the electronic presentation please submit details to anne@stonebarrow.plus.com by February 18th.  Prize for the most unusual contribution! Have fun!

Beating the Bounds – dates for your diaries!
Sat 18th May
Sat 15th June
Sat 29th June
Sat 13th July

Autumn 2018 programme
Monday 10th September 7.00 pm Ilsington Village Hall
Wine and Cheese – the start of our 2nd year as a group, with the opportunity to discuss plans and future projects
Monday 15th October 3.00 pm Ilsington Village Hall
Holwell Bronze Age hut excavation – the environmental context

Friday 9th November
 7.00 pm Ilsington Village Hall
Canadian Lumberjacks and Great Plantation during WW1 – an illustrated talk. If you would like to see a summary of this presentation, click here.
Monday 26th November 2.00 pm Ilsington Village Hall
Archiving workgroup

Monday 3rd December
2.00 pm Liverton Village Hall
A history of the Liverton Foundry and Devonmoor Pottery, including a local walk, led by Peter Carrett.

 

For further information, and details of our meetings, please email us.